Differences
This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.
Both sides previous revisionPrevious revisionNext revision | Previous revision | ||
rulesreference [2018/07/17 13:36] – admin | rulesreference [2021/05/19 12:29] (current) – admin | ||
---|---|---|---|
Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
==== Rules Reference ==== | ==== Rules Reference ==== | ||
- | The following section provides clarification on some of the mechanics of Dragon Dice. Note that some clarifications refer to mechanics discussed in the Advanced Rules section. | + | The following section provides clarification on some of the mechanics of #@DDtm@#. Note that some clarifications refer to mechanics discussed in the [[advancedrules|Advanced Rules]] section. |
=== Die Roll Resolution === | === Die Roll Resolution === | ||
Line 7: | Line 7: | ||
Players do not roll dice simultaneously unless a specific rule says so. During a march, the marching player always rolls their army first, followed by any opposing players. Once the marching player has finished resolving their roll, the opposing players resolve their rolls in turn order. Each player follows this process one by one: | Players do not roll dice simultaneously unless a specific rule says so. During a march, the marching player always rolls their army first, followed by any opposing players. Once the marching player has finished resolving their roll, the opposing players resolve their rolls in turn order. Each player follows this process one by one: | ||
- | - Roll the dice. | + | | **1** | Roll the dice. | |
- | | + | | **2** | Check to see if any existing effects will force or allow a die to be re‑rolled. This includes [[sais|SAIs]] that have a re‑rolling effect (for example, [[sai_bullseye|Bullseye]]). Apply these effects one at a time until all re-rolls have been made. Attackers apply their re‑roll effects before defenders. | |
- | | + | | **3** | Identify any applicable |
- | | + | | **4** | Count up all non-SAI generated action results to obtain a subtotal. |
- | | + | | **5** | Apply modifiers that subtract (results can never be reduced to below 0). | |
- | | + | | **6** | Apply modifiers that divide (results are rounded down). |
- | | + | | **7** | Add SAI generated action results to obtain a new subtotal. |
- | | + | | **8** | Apply modifiers that multiply. |
- | | + | | **9** | Apply modifiers that add (any ' |
- | + | // | |
- | // | + | |
A die's effect will resolve at its assigned time. If a die's results are used and it then leaves the army, its results still stand. If a die leaves the army before its results are used, or a die enters the army after the roll, that die has no effect on that roll. | A die's effect will resolve at its assigned time. If a die's results are used and it then leaves the army, its results still stand. If a die leaves the army before its results are used, or a die enters the army after the roll, that die has no effect on that roll. | ||
Line 23: | Line 22: | ||
=== ' | === ' | ||
- | A number of racial | + | A number of species |
=== Roll Modifiers === | === Roll Modifiers === | ||
Line 47: | Line 46: | ||
=== Combination Rolls === | === Combination Rolls === | ||
- | Certain actions call for a ' | + | Certain actions call for a ' |
The following rules apply: | The following rules apply: | ||
- | * During a combination roll, any modifiers to that roll which could be applied to different results are applied as the army’s owner desires. All modifiers must be applied if possible. | + | * During a combination roll, any modifiers to that roll which could be applied to different results are applied as the army's owner desires. All modifiers must be applied if possible. |
* If any ID icons are rolled, the owner of the army may choose what type of results they generate. | * If any ID icons are rolled, the owner of the army may choose what type of results they generate. | ||
- | * If an SAI generates a choice of different results (for example, Create Fireminions) then the player may split those results between those required by the roll. | + | * If an [[sais|SAI]] generates a choice of different results (for example, |
- | * If an SAI generates different results for each type of roll counted by the combination roll, then the player who rolled that SAI may choose which result to apply. For example, if a unit is targeted by a Coil SAI they make a combination roll counting melee and saves. The targeted unit rolls a Counter SAI – in a melee roll this generates melee results, in a save roll this generates save results. That player may choose to count the SAI as applying to either the melee, or to the save part of the roll, but not to both. | + | * If an [[sais|SAI]] generates different results for each type of roll counted by the combination roll, then the player who rolled that [[sais|SAI]] may choose which result to apply. For example, if a unit is targeted by a [[sai_coil|Coil]] SAI they make a combination roll counting melee and saves. The targeted unit rolls a [[sai_counter|Counter]] SAI – in a melee roll this generates melee results, in a save roll this generates save results. That player may choose to count the [[sais|SAI]] as applying to either the melee, or to the save part of the roll, but not to both. |
=== Damage === | === Damage === | ||
Line 65: | Line 64: | ||
* If possible, enough units must be killed to cover all remaining damage, but never in excess of it. | * If possible, enough units must be killed to cover all remaining damage, but never in excess of it. | ||
* Attacks or spells that target an army allow the entire army to make a save roll. | * Attacks or spells that target an army allow the entire army to make a save roll. | ||
- | * Attacks, SAIs, and spells that target a unit only allow that unit to make a save roll. An individual unit that is targeted does not receive any benefits given to its army. | + | * Attacks, |
- | * Each point of save results generated, from icons, spells or any other source, negates one point of damage. | + | * Each point of save results generated, from icons, |
=== Damage VS Killed === | === Damage VS Killed === | ||
- | When a unit(s) takes damage it is permitted to make a save roll unless an effect states otherwise. As stated above, if a unit takes damage equal to or greater than its health it is killed and put in its owner' | + | When a unit takes damage it is permitted to make a save roll unless an effect states otherwise. As stated above, if a unit takes damage equal to or greater than its health it is killed and put in its owner' |
- | If an effect states that a unit(s) is killed then the unit is immediately put in its owner' | + | If an effect states that a unit is killed then the unit is immediately put in its owner' |
+ | |||
+ | If some effect prevents a killed unit from entering the #@DUA@# (such as an [[spell_black_opengrave|Open Grave]]), any effects that take effect when the unit is killed, do not function. | ||
=== Monsters === | === Monsters === | ||
- | Monsters are worth four health each. The ID icon (marked with a triangle, circle, or diamond for easy recognition) generates four of whatever results you are rolling for. | + | Monsters are worth four health each. The ID icon (marked with a triangle, circle or diamond for easy recognition) generates four of whatever results you are rolling for. |
Unlike other units, normal action icons only ever appear singularly on the face of a monster. Any normal action icon rolled generates four results, so if a monster rolls a melee icon, that monster generates four melee results. | Unlike other units, normal action icons only ever appear singularly on the face of a monster. Any normal action icon rolled generates four results, so if a monster rolls a melee icon, that monster generates four melee results. | ||
Line 82: | Line 83: | ||
=== Promotion === | === Promotion === | ||
- | Many effects in the game allow a player to promote a unit. To promote a unit, exchange it with a unit in your #@DUA@# (or Summoning Pool, if promoting Dragonkin) of the same race and one-health larger. If a player has no units in their #@DUA@# (or Summoning Pool), then promotion cannot occur. | + | Many effects in the game allow a player to promote a unit. To promote a unit, exchange it with a unit in your #@DUA@# (or Summoning Pool, if promoting Dragonkin) of the same species |
The following rules apply to promotion: | The following rules apply to promotion: | ||
* A promotion affects only a single unit. | * A promotion affects only a single unit. | ||
- | * If a rule indicates to promote as many units as possible, all promotions happen at once. Identify all units that can be promoted, match each of them with a unit in the #@DUA@# (or Summoning Pool), then promote each of them simultaneously. | + | * If a rule indicates to promote |
* Promoted Eldarim and Dragonkin are not required to be the same color. | * Promoted Eldarim and Dragonkin are not required to be the same color. | ||
* If the promotion affects an entire army, such as after killing a dragon, all units in the army, even those that did not roll, may be promoted. | * If the promotion affects an entire army, such as after killing a dragon, all units in the army, even those that did not roll, may be promoted. | ||
* If an ability allows you to promote multiple health-worth at once you may choose to promote multiple units by one health-worth each, or you may combine the health to promote to a larger unit, or any combination you choose. | * If an ability allows you to promote multiple health-worth at once you may choose to promote multiple units by one health-worth each, or you may combine the health to promote to a larger unit, or any combination you choose. | ||
- | **Notes on exchanging units with the #@DUA@#**\\ | + | === Notes on exchanging units with the Dead Unit Area (DUA) === |
In addition to Promotion, a number of other effects cause an army to exchange units with those in a player' | In addition to Promotion, a number of other effects cause an army to exchange units with those in a player' | ||
Line 99: | Line 101: | ||
* Multiple exchanges with the #@DUA@# happen all at once. Identify any units that need to be exchanged, then highlight which units in the DUA they will be exchanged with before performing the exchange. | * Multiple exchanges with the #@DUA@# happen all at once. Identify any units that need to be exchanged, then highlight which units in the DUA they will be exchanged with before performing the exchange. | ||
* Even if all the units in the army are exchanged, at no time is the entire army considered gone. As such all army-targeting spells remain in effect and all Dragonkin, minor terrains and items (providing as enough units capable of carrying them are still present) remain in play. Only check to see if an army is still in place at the end of the exchange action. | * Even if all the units in the army are exchanged, at no time is the entire army considered gone. As such all army-targeting spells remain in effect and all Dragonkin, minor terrains and items (providing as enough units capable of carrying them are still present) remain in play. Only check to see if an army is still in place at the end of the exchange action. | ||
- | * If a unit is targeted by, or subject to an individual effect (for example, is affected by the [[sais#d_to_h|Hypnotic Glare SAI]]), exchanging the unit for another causes that effect to end. | + | * If a unit is targeted by, or subject to an individual effect (for example, is affected by the [[sai_hypnoticglare|Hypnotic Glare]] |
* Units that are exchanged are never considered killed. | * Units that are exchanged are never considered killed. |